Iphone Cocos2d Day 1 – Menu & Animated Sprite

Well its the first day of developing with XCode objective-C and Cocos2d. It was a good day and I accomplished what I wanted to.

I started out creating the main menu scene with a menu item, which I can add to later. Then I moved on to creating an Animated sprite. I actually found a really good tutorial on doing this as well as a great tool for creating the sprite sheet. Once again is you have any input on what I have done so far please leave a comment.

Some things I am looking for now are:

– How to create the tiled paralax background

– How to programme a game for “Levels”

Here is the Videos for Day 1

Here are some of the links I mentioned in the Video.

– Animated Sprites Tutorial Link

– Link to Sprite Creation Tool (PNG and PList files)

24 Responses to Iphone Cocos2d Day 1 – Menu & Animated Sprite

  1. ted says:

    Can you provide source code?

    • paulsondev says:

      I will be completing more detailed tutorials in the near future which I will include source code. I just want to take some more time to work out some bugs and make sure I am giving worth while advice.

  2. hhamm says:

    to get your code ready for 0.99 you have to replace :

    [cache createSpriteWithFrameName:(NSString*)name]

    with:

    [CCSprite spriteWithSpriteFrameName:(NSString*)name]

    createSpriteWithFrameName is deprecated in 0.99

    cheers,
    Hans Hamm

    • paulsondev says:

      @hhamm Thank you. I did find out that you call the sprite in that new way, But I really appreciate you help. When I get some more advance and detailed videos/entries up I would love more advice. Thank you again.

  3. Pingback: Iphone Cocos2d Day 2 – Scrolling TileMap & JoyPad « Creating Iphone Game with Cocos2d

  4. gualetar says:

    The subject is fully clear but why does the text lack clarity? But in general your blog is great.

  5. PiterJankovich says:

    My name is Piter Jankovich. oOnly want to tell, that your blog is really cool
    And want to ask you: is this blog your hobby?
    P.S. Sorry for my bad english

  6. Murukku says:

    I had already started coding for my game using Quartz2d until I started facing some performance issues. After going through your tutorials, I think cocos2d is the way for me. Thanks for the great tutorial.

    Keep up the good work.

  7. SF says:

    Great tutorial – I’m in exactly the same situation (as you were anyway when you started this), and this is exactly what I’ve been looking for. You are doing the community a great service with these. Thanks a lot!

  8. Umer Sufyan says:

    Nice Work You did a Great Job i just want to know how can some one move obstacle in pre specified path in cocos2d just like a pinball game is there a way to define a path in cocos 2d that is cultivated if there is a way or sample tutorial . it would be great appreciated….
    Thanks

  9. ash says:

    Nice work…and a very good tutorial. i would like to know using the Zwoptex, should we untrim the image or trim it? if we trim the image, did the image position will be not same or will be same as untrim? because currently i got a big image and want to put inside the zwoptex. but if i didnt untrim it in zwoptex, the space given is not enough.

    • PaulsonApps says:

      Thank you…I would say not to trim any image in Zwoptex….But I personally dont use Zwoptex and find it easier to create my sprite sheets in photoshop. To do this I make a grid which I can remember can after placing my images in this grid I can call them up using a co-ordinate system as a frame of this spritehseet.

      • ash says:

        Thanks Paul for the information, now i know why my character position is not coordinate well in the game. Because i trim the image in zwoptex. After i trim the image canvas size is not same size anymore.

  10. Joey says:

    Awesome blog keep up the good work! Really appreciate that people are making these blogs!! Very educative!

  11. Tommy says:

    Does this tutorial has source code? I cannot see the code in the video.

  12. Maxxx says:

    Thanks for doing this. Exactly the right level for me – I’m having fun following along.
    Only issue is with the clarity of the videos -almost impossible to read the text sometimes, and the sound is pretty noisy.

  13. Shani says:

    Hi colleagues, good article and pleasant urging commented at this place, I am
    genuinely enjoying by these.

  14. Thanks for one’s marvelous posting! I actually enjoyed reading it, you could be a great author.I will make sure to bookmark your blog and will come back in the future. I want to encourage you to ultimately continue your great work, have a nice morning!

  15. What’s up, I wish for to subscribe for this blog to get latest updates, thus where can i do it please help.

  16. Sherman says:

    Woah! I’m really digging the template/theme of this website. It’s simple,
    yet effective. A lot of times it’s hard to get that “perfect balance” between user friendliness and visual appeal. I must say you’ve done a excellent job with this.
    Also, the blog loads very fast for me on Safari.
    Exceptional Blog!

  17. Hey There. I found your weblog using msn. That is an extremely well written
    article. I will be sure to bookmark it and come back to read more of your useful info.
    Thanks for the post. I will certainly comeback.

  18. Outlined on our site love to write and point out what a great job you have
    on this, as you have fit a lot of work into it.

    Sadly, I’m not sure how to keep a comment….

Leave a Reply

